Top 3 Live-action Musicals

I love music, and I love films. So it follows that I love musicals. although I have many animated musical favourites, there are too many to put into one post, so here is a list of my favourite non-animated musicals.

1. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (1954)

This musical has made a regular appearance on my 2013 film list, and has also made its way onto my 2014 film list. I might even be so bold as to say that it’s one of my all-time favourite films as well as my favourite musical. I think it’s well scripted, has good casting choices, and the barn dance scene is spectacular. I’m not sure if this film is meant to be funny, but almost every line has me cracking up.

Starring: Howard Keel, Jane Powell

Favourite song: All of them, especially Sobbin’ Women

2. Calamity Jane (1953)

I don’t watch this film as often as I want to (my sister keeps hold of the DVD and it’s only aired on channel 5 about twice a year) but that makes it all the more special when I can watch it.

Starring: Doris Day, Howard Keel

Favourite song: I can do without you

3. Fiddler on the Roof (1971)

Despite only seeing this film in full for the first time in December 2013, it has quickly made its way to being one of my favourite musicals. However, it is very long at just over 3 hours, and somehow every viewing includes some scenes being skipped/fast forwarded to get to the good parts/songs.

Starring: Topol, Norma Crane

Favourite song: Sunrise Sunset

All of these were made more than 40 years ago, but the quality of them is as good as a lot of today’s films. It doesn’t matter how many special effects there are, or how much editing you do to make it look good, a musical will always only be as good as its worst song. However, I think that sometimes the worst song can make the musical even better by adding a hint of surprise/cringe/laughter that makes you want to rewind and watch it again.

Photo credit: amazon

Do you have a favourite musical, animated or not?

One comment

Please leave a comment

