Blogathon: Childhood Films

This is a blogathon created by Let’s Go To The Movies whereby you write about your favourite childhood films.

I’ve done a list of 11, in no particular order, but you can use between 3 and 25 films. A full list of rules is available in her blogathon announcement post. You can also read her list of her top 7 childhood films.

  •  The Goonies (1985) – I’ve seen it at least twice a year for the past 15 years, I loved it as a child and I still think it’s one of the best films ever created.
  • Toy Story (1995) – The beginning of a wonderful journey with Buzz and Woody.

520px-Toy_Story.svg

  • Home Alone 1 (1990) and 2 (1992) – I think the first two will always be the best. The story never sat right with me once they started changing the characters, I couldn’t tell if the creators meant them to be the same family or a different family with the same name?? Regardless, Home Alone gets played every Christmas, and sometimes at Easter on Channel 4 if we’re lucky!
  • The Greatest Store In The World (TV movie 1999) – I wish they would show this on TV again at Christmas. They used to play it every year and then one year they didn’t show it and it never reappeared…

Greatest Store in the World

  • Anastasia (1997) – This was the first non-Disney animated film I ever saw, and both the dialogue and soundtrack are amazing. Meg Ryan made some stunning films in the 90’s., and I’m glad this was one of them.
  • The Karate Kid (1984) – Where would the world be without “wax on, wax off”? I think the thing I love most about this film is how 80’s it is; the clothes, the language, the hair!

The Karate Kid

  • Matilda (1996) – Ah, Miss Trunchbull, the epitome of evil headmistresses. Who could forget her disgust at anything to do with children, coupled with Matilda’s intellect and the dad’s “I’m right, you’re wrong” speech that makes the film so lovable?
  • Evolution (2001) – I don’t think this film receives as much adoration as it deserves. It involves witty humour, alien life forms and an impromptu serenade to a prehistoric flying creature, a winning formula!
  • The Iron Giant (1999) – This was the first film that made me both laugh and cry in the space of 10 minutes. I especially love the deadpan humour used by Hogarth.

Iron Giant

  • A Goofy Movie (1995) – It’s impossible to watch this and not want to sing along. I still listen to the album at least once a week and not just because Tevin Campbell has some serious vocals.

UPDATE 19/7/15 – I know I’ve included Toy Story and A Goofy Movie, but I forgot to mention that almost every Disney and Disney/Pixar film played a massive role in my childhood, and if I mentioned them individually there wouldn’t be enough hours in the day to read through the entire post!

6 comments

  1. Thanks for taking part in the Blogathon and loved that you have picked some films that are different like The Greatest Store In the World – I have never heard of it and feel that I have stumbled across similar films over the years which seem to just disappear if they are made for TV movie. I can’t believe I never thought about Matilda!

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a comment

