Review: The Secret Life of Pets

I was so excited to go and see this at the cinema; I’d seen all the trailers months in advance and didn’t care that my sisters and I would probably be the oldest people there (excluding the parents of all the children). We sat through all the adverts and trailers in anticipation for hopefully one of the funniest films of the year, and when it was all over, we left feeling completely …underwhelmed.

Don’t get me wrong, we laughed a lot and the animals were adorable, but the whole thing just fell short of my expectations.

I know it’s a kids film so there can’t be too many complex storylines, but I felt like they could have done more with the whole ‘Max and Duke get lost/kidnapped’ thing or maybe have a few more scenes of what the other animals get up to when their owners aren’t around. It just needed something to make it more memorable, or at least to make it feel as long as its supposed 1 1/2 hour run time.

Secret Life of Pets

I still think it’s a good film, maybe not the best release this month, but definitely not a bad one.

Please leave a comment

